How do you title a blog post about your artwork being featured on beer labels?

Carolina Blonde Cream Ale, featuring my Cape Hatteras Lighthouse illustration.

When I was 14 years old, a created a pen and ink series of the North Carolina lighthouses. I would hand-color the prints made from those illustrations with water color. It was a bit of a thorn in my side :). It was nice to make a little extra money from the sales of the prints, but as a teenager, I hated tinting the images. I did not have much of a work ethic then.

Then, 20 years later, I decided to update the series.People continued to buy the originals, but I wanted the series to reflect the artist I had become, not the 14-year old who first drew them. I created new illustrations that are reminiscent of 1930’s travel posters.

Fast forward 9 years, to last year. I was contacted by an ad agency about a brewing company using my updated lighthouses on some beer labels. Sounded good to me.

So last night, walking through Fresh Market, I noticed something familiar. Announcing Foothills Brewery’s Carolina Blonde, featuring my Cape Hatteras Lighthouse illustration as part of the packaging!

Leave a Reply

